Dempo Face United Sikkim Test

Armando Colaco’s boys travel out of Goa for the first time this season to face an in-form United Sikkim Football Club at the picturesque Pajlor Stadium in Sikkim. The Snow Lions, coached by Belgian Phillipe De Ridder are no pushovers at home having stunned the former champions Salgaocar Football Club in their first ever math in the I-league. Though they lost out narrowly to East Bengal in their next game, they gave a good account of themselves.

That has prompted India’s most successful coach Armando Colaco to tell his players not to take the Snow Lions easy. Speaking exclusively to, the coach said he would go all-out against the new entrants and look to get all three points. He has also warned his side against complacency. Coach Colaco will in all probability play the same eleven that mauled Sporting Clube de Goa in their last match. Rohan Ricketts on that day played a more withdrawn role behind the two strikers- Ryuji Sueoka and Joaquim Abranches. Peter Carvalho held fort in midfield allowing Ricketts more space and freedom to spray passes around. In this game too Colaco will probably follow the same formation and start with Ricketts in midfield though he has an option of playing Koko in place of Abranches. The rest of the team will remain unchanged.

A view of the Pajlor Stadium

United Sikkim on the other hand will be looking to bounce back from their narrow loss against East Bengal. A two week break would have given Phillipe de Ridder some time to iron out the flaws and they will be raring to go against the defending champions.

Sikkim has played almost the same line-up in their two games and much will depend on their three foreigners- Buddhiram Tudu, Linekar Machado and Michael Rodriguez. Nurudeen Salau, Sandesh Jhingjhan and Linekar Machado were their scorers in the match against Salgaocar and the Sikkim faithful would be hoping they would once again come good against the five time I-League winners. The match is slated to kick off at 2:30 pm.





Dempo likely XI:

Subhasish Roy Chowdhury, Mahesh Gawli, Cresson Antao, Debabrata Roy, Valeriano Rebello, Peter Carvalho, Clifford Miranda, Rohan Ricketts, Anthony Pereira, Koko Sakibo, Ryuji Sueoka.